Health, humerus, ORIF, recovery, shoulder, surgery

A tale of two shoulders

195 days post-surgery, 19 days post-MUA…

I’ve started to realize that I have two left shoulders: upper and lower. I can easily raise my arm from its resting position at my side to about eye level. From chest level to eye level, I start hitting resistance, and it eventually hits its limit. But then a funny thing happens. If I just support my arm gently with my other hand, the joint seems to ‘settle in’ and re-position. Once that happens, I can lift further with little or no resistance. I can raise my arm pretty high, probably 80% or more of the way to vertical. A little more strength would help make it easier, and I’m hoping to get more gains beyond 80%.

If I could just smoothly raise my arm from 0-80% in one motion, I’d be happy. I just need to figure out how to get these two shoulders to work together.

5 thoughts on “A tale of two shoulders

  1. Hi Scott. Still following your post and we face very similar struggles especially the forward motion of arm to 90 degrees where the ROM seems to stop.

    I had a cortisone injection three days ago based on the advice of my surgeon. My pain has decreased by estimated 30%. Hoping this will give me the edge I’m looking for as you have been experiencing with the MUA procedure.

    Like

    1. Good luck! I had a cortisone shot with the MUA, but honestly I had almost no pain before the MUA anyway. My primary concern has been ROM. The shot probably helped reduce the pain of recovery, although it takes a few days to kick in.

      Like

Leave a comment