Health, humerus, ORIF, recovery, shoulder, surgery

2-weeks medication-free

62 days post-surgery…

Two weeks (prescription) medication-free…

Just a quick note to check-in on my two-week anniversary of being off prescription pain medication.

Last week, I was probably 80% over the withdrawal symptoms. This week, I’d say I’m closer to 90-95% better. I still don’t have much of an appetite, and I’m not sleeping well at all. But based on what I hear from other people recovering from this type of surgery, my sleep problems are more related to the surgery after-effects than the medication after-effects.

The medication helped combat the surgical after effects, and without them I’m feeling the full impact on my sleep. I’m not really sure what to do about this. I’m relying on over-the-counter remedies like Melatonin to help me sleep, but it only works for me if I use it occasionally. I guess I develop a tolerance for it.

I’d prefer to find a sustainable solution that doesn’t involve pharmaceutical intervention. Exercise is a good option, but I’m not quite healthy enough to push myself that hard. Hopefully that will change in the coming weeks.

Leave a comment